Final Project Idea’s

So its coming up to the final decisions I need to make and getting my max msp patches all working for my installation for my final assessment. I have only a couple of weeks to get it all finished!

At the moment I currently have one ultrasonic sensor. Originally I wanted there to be at least 6 sensors along the wall in a corridor which will activate sounds as you walked past them. I have found that the sensors themselves are a bit expensive so I’ve changed my idea slightly. I still want to use the corridor idea, depending on what kind of space I can use for my installation, with the visual at the end. The sensor, as it can track quite far, would be placed below or to the side of the visual. Depending on how far away you are from the visuals depends on what sounds you will hear. If I get another sensor, the two would be placed one either side of the projected visual and one on the other.

These a few of the sounds I have already chosen for my installation:

The french composer and Pianist, Cecile Chaminade’s, ‘Automne’. This is a really beautiful piano concerto. I wanted to play a piece written by this composer as there aren’t many female composers that I could name. After doing a bit of research I came across Cecile Chaminade. She accomplished quite a lot in her long lifetime, composing over 400 pieces and touring all over France, Britten and the USA.

My next sound is one of the orchestral pieces that Marin Alsop conducted on the last night of the proms. I originally wanted to use Anna Clyne’s ‘Masquerade’ but annoyingly I can’t find it anywhere on the internet. So the piece I’ve chose was written by Vaughan Williams on the eve of the first world war first written for violin and piano then for violin and orchestra. I also chose this one out of all the pieces she conducted because Vaughn Williams is one of my favourite composers and I think that the story behind the composition and what was happening at the time is reflected in the composition.

My third sound is Emmeline Pankhurst speech. With this, as there is no recording of it, I am going record several people reading it out load and cut and edit it together.

I also want to include some more modern sounds into my installation:

Janis Joplin, who is considered a pioneer in the women’s movements is very important figure. Also encouraging people to question authority, she also emphasized that women can be just powerful in society as men.

Delia Derbyshire is probably one of the most recognizable women pioneers in electronic music. She was an important member of the BBC’s Radiophonic workshop and she also wrote the original Dr Who theme tune.  Alongside the British electronic artist Daphne Oram. She was ‘not only one of the founders of BBC’s Radiophonic Workshop which was one of the world’s most important centers for electronic innovation throughout the 1950s and 1960s, she was also experimenting with electronic music as far back as the 1940s. By 1959 she had her own studio and had developed the “Oramics” technique – a drawn sound technique using patterns drawn on clear film to modulate sound produced by oscillators, an idea still used today. She is an important figure because women are so unrepresented in electronic music.’ I will use Delia Derbyshires ‘Ziwzih Ziwzih OO-OO-OO’ and Daphne Oram’s ‘Tumblewash’.

I have a few more things to think about, sound and presentation wise, but at the moment I think it is all coming together. I need to find a few more sounds and then I can have a run through of the installation and see what needs to be done and/or corrected.

Leave a Reply

