T e d d y H u n t e r

I have decided to use the psuedonym Teddy Hunter. I like the idea of an artist name because I feel like I have have a bit more freedom to do what I want to do. I have chosen a name that isn’t particularly gender specific – even though it hints towards the male gender you still wouldn’t really know whether Teddy Hunter was a man or woman until you researched them.

Although I would like to keep my real name hidden, and my gender too, I realize that it is quite hard being anonymous that the work I am doing at the moment features myself in it and that my past work is very much open about my name. When I talk about Abandoned Symphonies though I refer to the person in the installation as ‘the girl’.

I’ve been thinking about it for a while but I just never really had the guts to do until now. With advice from my Portfolio and Professional Development lecturer, Stef, who advised me to carry on with Jessica Myers website for the hand in then test out using Teddy Hunter for the live show.

www.teddyhunter.co.uk

Changing my artist name means that there are several social media things that need to be updated/changed. This include instagram, facebook, twitter, soundcloud and my website – In the end I started to make two websites where, because Teddy Hunter website still wasn’t finished and needed a lot of changes from my Jessica Myers website, Stef still advised me to hand in my Jessica Myers website for PPD as that one was pretty much finished. This though allows me to be able to edit my Teddy Hunter website as I wouldn’t be able to change the website in anyway for a while because of the module hand in. As the Jessica Myers website was created purely for the hand in and made specifically with the module handbook requirements in  mind.

There are several artists that I have only just found out that use a different name when presenting their work. One of these artists is Mira Calix. I’ve been a big fan of her work for a while now and didn’t realize that that wasn’t her real name.

I think for myself, I would like to use this name a while just to see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

